Why look for trouble?

I’ve been reflecting a lot on what I guess is a rather curious position for me to be in. My good friend and brother in Christ Puritan Lad has been running a poll on his website at Covenant Theology on what role, if any, science should play in the interpretation of Scripture. I will add my reflections to that site as a guest writer later. The results and comments are interesting, to say the least.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been called all sorts of names, and my salvation called into question, because I specifically do not hold to a YEC interpretation of Gen 1. The reason I feel bemused about that is that I am an extremely conservative reformed Christian, ordained as a minister and with a long track record of debating unbelievers and non-Christians. In these debates there is absolutely no denying that I will be totally lost without the inspiration of the Spirit, but also much weaker without the rich scholarly tradition and materials of reformed theology. Why then should that rich tradition and in-depth scholarship be denied or discontinued? But I feel that any efforts by myself or others to add to the reformed body of knowledge, even in our own small way, are treated like enemies of the faith. Somehow I became a closet atheist for believing that all things bring glory to God, including science, and because I refuse to buy into the false dichotomy brought about by post-modernism – the so-called different spheres of truth for science and religion. Neither have I defaulted into a modernist position, as is many times the case with for example theistic evolutionists.

No, I remain a conservative reformed amateur theologian and servant of the Holy Triune God. But I also refuse to let good solid exegesis, philosophy, science and other scholarly work in the reformed tradition die. I also refuse to let reformed scholarship be dictated to by secularist philosophical frameworks or liberal theologians. No, the reformed tradition has some very strong shoulders to stand on, beginning with the omnipotence of God over His entire creation, and that also includes the area of science.

To that effect then, we should not talk of theology and science, but a theology of science. Science is as much part of our culture as education, art, justice and religion, and deserves to be included in what we do to glorify our Heavenly Father.

I will not stop trying to add to our reformed tradition, whatever names I may be called, or however others may judge me. Because I am not aiming to please humans, but to glorify God, in all His glory and creation.

Leave a Reply

