Reflections on Memorial Day

Of all the holidays on the calender, Memorial Day really hits home with me. I think it is a great tradition to honor not only those that have fallen to protect our freedom, values and rights, but also those that had the courage to put on the uniform to do so.

I spent 6 years in the military myself, but there is no chance of me ever being honored in this fashion in my birth country. Neither will my uncles, who also spent time in the military, nor will my grandfather, who was part of the artillery that helped drive Rommel back in North Africa. But deep in my heart I know that our legacy can never be taken away.

Thank you to all of those nameless soldiers who had the courage to stand up and be a target for those who hate us, who stood in the front lines so that we can enjoy freedom. We celebrate your bravery and your selflessness.

But mostly we celebrate your love for us.

Joh 15:13  Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.

Leave a Reply

