Call for Unity

I don’t know how many people read this blog. Does it matter? Maybe not, although I believe that there are some important messages here. I read many blogs, newspapers and forums, at least 15 per day. Secular, Christian, sports, news etc…and from it all I try to form an opinion of what is going on in the world.

Normally I don’t watch O’Reilly on Fox News, he is not my cup of tea. Nevertheless, tonight I was about to switch channels when his headlines caught my eye.

Brian Rohrbough, father of Danny Rohrbough, shot and killed at Columbine, was on the program. (http://denver.rockymountainnews.com/shooting/0427rohr6.shtml) Mr. Rohrbough is being trampled on by many today, for appearing on CBS news last night (http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2006/10/02/freespeech/main2057062.shtml) and saying among other things, that “the country is in a moral free-fall”. Abortion and the proliferation of murder/suicides, particularly in schools, is proof for that. What really ilked many is that he also said that the theory of evolution is to blame for his son’s death. When questioned tonight by O’Reilly to justify the statement, he spoke about the killers’ and police videos never released. In them, both Columbine shooters appeal to the theory, saying that it allows, even obligates them to remove the weak. Also, one of the shooters wore a shirt that bore out a similar message.

Immediately, the secularists and left wing erupted with indignation. Tags like “idiot”, “crazy man”, “divorced from reality”, “total cretin” and advocate of bible thumping politics were just a few thrown around. Even Katie Couric, while not directly attacking Mr Rohrbough, said some might find his comments repugnant.

While there is plenty to say about the specific issue, I want to speak about something else, something wider, and that is the comment about society’s moral free fall. I agree that it is the case, but then the bigger question is, who is to blame?

We cannot blame government, teachers, students or anyone, but ourselves, the Christians. During my daily blogrounds, I see good and bad teaching, immediately set upon by fellow Christians, not unlike Mr Rohrbough was set upon by atheists, liberals and secularists. Good and fruitful discussion between Christians are useful, and sanctifying. More often than not, I see more division, instead of more unity.

This is a call to every Christian reading this, please, in the name of God, let’s let us stand together in our agreements around the Gospel. It is our responsibility, as stewards of God’s creation, His commission and His kingdom on earth to make sure that society is not in a moral freefall. All that is absolutely pure and good is from God, and we are His children, His messengers, and His leaders who must see His will done. Yes, we are scoffed at, laughed at, shot at and otherwise attacked and humiliated. It is a priviledge.

The Bible (ESV) says this in Chapter 4:

Eph 4:1 I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called,
Eph 4:2 with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love,
Eph 4:3 eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.
Eph 4:4 There is one body and one Spirit–just as you were called to the one hope that belongs to your call–
Eph 4:5 one Lord, one faith, one baptism,
Eph 4:6 one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.
Eph 4:7 But grace was given to each one of us according to the measure of Christ’s gift.
Eph 4:8 Therefore it says, “When he ascended on high he led a host of captives, and he gave gifts to men.”
Eph 4:9 (In saying, “He ascended,” what does it mean but that he had also descended into the lower parts of the earth?
Eph 4:10 He who descended is the one who also ascended far above all the heavens, that he might fill all things.)
Eph 4:11 And he gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers,
Eph 4:12 to equip the saints for the work of ministry, for building up the body of Christ,
Eph 4:13 until we all attain to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to mature manhood, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ,
Eph 4:14 so that we may no longer be children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by human cunning, by craftiness in deceitful schemes.
Eph 4:15 Rather, speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ,
Eph 4:16 from whom the whole body, joined and held together by every joint with which it is equipped, when each part is working properly, makes the body grow so that it builds itself up in love.
Eph 4:17 Now this I say and testify in the Lord, that you must no longer walk as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their minds.
Eph 4:18 They are darkened in their understanding, alienated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, due to their hardness of heart.
Eph 4:19 They have become callous and have given themselves up to sensuality, greedy to practice every kind of impurity.
Eph 4:20 But that is not the way you learned Christ!–
Eph 4:21 assuming that you have heard about him and were taught in him, as the truth is in Jesus,
Eph 4:22 to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires,
Eph 4:23 and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds,
Eph 4:24 and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.
Eph 4:25 Therefore, having put away falsehood, let each one of you speak the truth with his neighbor, for we are members one of another.
Eph 4:26 Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger,
Eph 4:27 and give no opportunity to the devil.
Eph 4:28 Let the thief no longer steal, but rather let him labor, doing honest work with his own hands, so that he may have something to share with anyone in need.
Eph 4:29 Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.
Eph 4:30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.
Eph 4:31 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice.
Eph 4:32 Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.

A team cannot win divided. It seems to me that we are so intent on achieving intellectual victory over one another as Christians that we forget about standing together against the world.

Jesus, praying in John 17, said this:
“Joh 17:6 “I have manifested your name to the people whom you gave me out of the world. Yours they were, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word.
Joh 17:7 Now they know that everything that you have given me is from you.
Joh 17:8 For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me.
Joh 17:9 I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours.
Joh 17:10 All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them.
Joh 17:11 And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one.
Joh 17:12 While I was with them, I kept them in your name, which you have given me. I have guarded them, and not one of them has been lost except the son of destruction, that the Scripture might be fulfilled.
Joh 17:13 But now I am coming to you, and these things I speak in the world, that they may have my joy fulfilled in themselves.
Joh 17:14 I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.
Joh 17:15 I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one.
Joh 17:16 They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.
Joh 17:17 Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth.
Joh 17:18 As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world.
Joh 17:19 And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be sanctified in truth.
Joh 17:20 “I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word,
Joh 17:21 that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.
Joh 17:22 The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one,
Joh 17:23 I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me.

Specifically in verse 21,22, and 23, He implores the Father that we shall be one, as close as the Holy Trinity itself. How powerful is that, and how pitifully short we have fallen, and continue to fall. The Holy Spirit sows discord between believers and unbelievers, good and evil, but not between Christians. Next time you put pen to paper, or type a snooty response or post on the internet to a fellow believer, think about it twice. Be gentle and loving, as we are commanded, and put that passion into changing our world for the better.

Dear brothers and sisters in God, I know that I am guilty of discord among Christians too. My own arrogance overcomes me too. Today I beg the forgiveness of God for that, I have seen how it destroys people and subsequently societies. I want to urge every Christian who reads this to take a step back, read the passages I quoted above prayerfully and earnestly, and recommit to do what God wants us to.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

